Roast Duck with Pomegranate Ginger Glaze

I’ve fallen in love with duck fat for cooking.  Roasted root vegetables are just to die for when cooked in duck fat.  I am lucky that I can find a good source locally, but it is pretty expensive.  I decided to embark on roasting a duck and collecting the delicious fat …

Now, I roast chickens almost weekly, and I have cooked many a turkey.  I’ve even done Cornish Game Hens.  But I’ve never even eaten duck!  I developed a severe beef allergy in my late teens, then spent many years through my twenties as a vegetarian and vegan.  When I returned to meat, it was in the early 90s, and therefore deep in the anti-fat movement.  I would pretty much only eat boneless, skinless chicken breast for a long time.  Now that I know the health benefit of eating meat on the bone and of eating animal fats, I now prefer fattier cuts of meat and poultry on the bone with skin!

One of the issues with duck is that since it is so high in fat, if not cooked properly, the skin can be soggy.  Ick.  So I have done a lot of reading and followed the process described by Hungry Mouse almost to a “T” … The Best Way to Roast a Duck (Hello, Crispy Skin!) (Check it out … beautiful tutorial with great pictures … my duck looked almost exactly the same.)

Please ignore my dirty oven!

But I’ve had this bottle of Pomegranate Molasses that I made at Christmastime for our salmon … and I wanted to use it.  So I got out my trusty Flavor Bible.  I looked up Pomegranate Molasses and chose some complementary flavors.

Pomegranate Glaze:

  • 1/2 cup Pomegranate Molasses
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 1/2 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1 inch fresh ginger, peeled and grated on a Microplane grater
  • 1 Tbs Balsamic Vinegar

Mix ingredients together in a saucepan and bring to a boil.

Reduce until the glaze coats the back of a spoon.

IMG_3927

Substitute this glaze for the glaze in the Hungry Mouse’s recipe, and finish cooking as specified in her recipe.

I served this with a side of mashed cauliflower, roasted beets, and roasted Brussels sprouts (in duck fat of course!).

Bonus!  Beautiful duck fat!

Categories: Poultry, Recipes | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

