Compote of Fennel, Onion, Pancetta, and Golden Raisins

Fennel was my mother-in-law’s favorite vegetable. I never had it until I found this recipe in our local paper.

IMG_0619

Now this is one of my favorite side-dishes!

Ingredients:

Thinly slice 1 onion (I forgot to thinly slice when I made it this time.  It was still good!)

Thinly slice 1 fennel bulb

Dice 2 oz of pancetta (I used 2 slices of organic nitrite-free bacon since that’s what I had)

1/4 cup of golden raisins.

 

IMG_0611

Add the pancetta (or bacon) to a pan and let cook.

IMG_0612

Add the onion, fennel, and raisins.

IMG_0613

Stir.  Stir some more.

Let start to brown and reduce.

Lower heat (from medium/medium-high) to lowish. Cover and let reduce by about 1/2.

IMG_0614

Raise heat a little, uncover, and let brown up a bit. Eat. Enjoy!

IMG_0617

Categories: Recipes, Side Dishes, Vegetables | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

