Colorful Kale Salad

I have a confession … I am not a big fan of salad.  And by salad I mean garden salad.  I don’t know, it’s just so … blah.  Boring.  Meh.

BUT, I love love love my veggies … and to be honest, sometimes I just crave raw veggies.  Especially in winter.  Or those first warm days in spring when I eat lunch outside and wish I had a sweater.  Or mid-summer when my CSA bounty is overwhelming.  Who am I kidding?  I could eat raw veggies three meals a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year (366 in a leap year)!  But just not boring regular old “lettuce salad” as my daughter calls it.

Sometimes I want a nice chopped Cobb salad.  Or something like Turkish Chopped Salad from Well Fed.  But much of the time I totally crave kale.  I know, you are saying, “Kale?  Raw?  But it’s so tough and bitter!”  Yeah, I hear people say that and I just don’t get it.  I’ll share my method and you can decide yourself …

Kale Salad

Toss together:

1 bunch kale, ribs removed, sliced thinly (you can use any kind of kale, I like a mix of red and green, or just lacinato)
1/2 head purple cabbage, core removed, sliced thinly (I like to use a mandolin for this)
3-4 carrots, scrubbed or peeled, then shredded
3-4 scallions, sliced thinly
1/4 red onion, diced finely

IMG_3930IMG_3936IMG_3937IMG_3944

Then drizzle the dressing ingredients over the top, and toss thoroughly.

Dressing:

juice from 1 lemon
2 cloves garlic, pressed
olive oil (~ 1/4 cup I think, I just drizzle it on)

IMG_3945

Season to taste with:

Himalayan Salt
Freshly ground Black Pepper

Eat immediately, or let it sit a few hours.  This is even awesome the next day or day after.  I always try to make extra so I can eat it for meals over the next few days.

Enjoy!

Categories: Recipes, Side Dishes, Vegetables | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

