Favorite Paleo CookBooks

20130120-184056.jpg

 

I have a small cookbook problem. My husband might argue that I have a LARGE cookbook problem. But I honestly use most of my cookbooks for a variety of things.

Want to make something like beignet? Need a recipe to start from to “paleo-ify”? The Joy of Cooking has a recipe for almost anything.

Want some creative, interesting vegetable side-dishes? I love The Farmer’s Kitchen, and From Asparagus to Zucchini.

But now that I follow a Paleo diet with some modifications (more about this in a future post), I am drawn to “Paleo” cookbooks. The five shown below are my favorites …

IMG_3925

Well Fed by Melissa Joulwan

If you are a foodie and like interesting spice combinations then this is the book for you! Melissa also goes into detail on how to do a weekly cook up to ease some of your kitchen time. Love love love this book. Favorite recipes: Sunshine Sauce, Citrus Carnitas, and Garlic-Lime Shrimp.

Sweet Potato Power by Ashely Tudor

This is the book that got me realizing that “one size does not fit all” when it comes to dietary tolerance. This shouldn’t have been a newsflash, but for some reason it was. Don’t be afraid to experiment on yourself … yes, N=1, but if you are trying to figure things out about your health, it is the only experiment that matters! Plus it has lots and lots of yummy sweet potato recipes. In ways you would have never thought of. My absolute favorite is the Sweet Potato Linguine with Sage and Brown Butter Sauce.

The Food Lovers Make it Paleo by Bill Staley and Hayley Mason

Bill and Hayley have a great cookbook full of recipes designed to please just about every palate. Not so fancy that you couldn’t serve it to your family on a weeknight, but delicious enough that your family will think you are spoiling them. And this is my go-to book for Paleo treats. My favorites are the Chocolate Chip Cookies, Infamous Bacon Cookies, Dark Chocolate Cake, and Carrot Cake.

Practical Paleo by Diane Sanfilippo

I waited a long time for this book to come out! Several years ago when I was first investigating the Paleo diet, I had a brief phone consultation with Diane. After explaining my history and ongoing issues, she immediately said that I needed to follow the Auto-Immune Protocol. I was still trying to wrap my head around the basics of the Paleo diet, so the thought of following AIP was more than I could process at the time. Unfortunately, she was over-booked and wasn’t able to take me on as a client. Now several years later, I realize that she was right, I should have started with AIP then! This book is amazing in how it lays out the material … it has special sections based upon your goals along with supplement suggestions and meal plans. The recipes are all tagged as to different dietary needs (FODMAPS, NIGHTSHADES, EGGS, etc) with suggested modifications if appropriate. I absolutely love the spice mixes (Italian Sausage, Chorizo, Indian), and the other “basics” like herbal-tea infused gelatin cubes (grown up jello!), clarified butter/ghee, bone broth, and baked bacon! Cumin-Spiced Pork Tenderloin has become a family favorite.

Paleo Comfort Foods by Julie & Charles Mayfield

This is the first “Paleo” cookbook I bought, and it is the one I credit with getting me excited about the possibilities of Paleo cooking. Several of the recipes have become my “go to” recipes for potlucks or guests. Maryland Crab Cakes with Chipotle Dipping Sauce. Brussels Sprout Slaw. Basic Biscuits. Scattered, Smothered, and Chunked Sweet Hash. Pesto Spaghetti Squash. Turkey Loafing. Strawberry Shortcakes.

There are two other books that I have on pre-order that I am super-excited about …

Gather, The Art of Paleo Entertaining by Bill Staley and Hayley Mason

And Beyond Bacon by Stacy Toth and Matthew McCarry

 

Categories: Resources | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

