Celeriac and Collard Green Slaw

Do you ever get bored with the same old vegetable side dishes?  I do.  I seem to have food ADD!!  Well, in winter sometimes it is hard to fulfill my need to eat interesting vegetables beyond steamed or roasted broccoli.  And although I love many of the root vegetables, roasting them can get old, and I really don’t like purees (I think it’s a texture thing.  It feels more like drinking or something.  I need to CHEW my food for my stomach to register it!).  But I do love interesting chopped salads.  The less lettuce the better.

I was looking to make something with celeriac or celery root because it is a good winter vegetable, readily available, and high in vitamin K, moderately high in vitamin C, phosphorus, and potassium.  But beyond pureeing, I wasn’t really sure what to do with it.  Then I thought of some sort of slaw … and voilà!  This is a rather hearty vegetable salad due to the texture of the collards and the two root vegetables.  Perfect for a winter meal … when you are craving some raw veggies!

I chose collard greens due to their ready availability in the winter, and because I’d never had them any way other than sautéed with bacon fat.  I knew the slaw needed a hearty green, and the collards just called out to me in the store.  From a nutritional standpoint, they rank high in vitamins K, A, and C, and pretty good in Folate.

For the Salad:

1 bunch of collard greens
1 medium-sized celeriac bulb
2 large carrots
1/2 cup parsley leaves

For the dressing:

1/4 cup mayo**
juice 1/2 lemon
2 Tbs capers
2 Tbs tarragon (fresh is best, dried will do in a pinch but use half; I harvest from my garden in the fall and freeze whole)
Salt to taste

**I haven’t tried it yet, but if you are AIP and don’t tolerate egg yolks (in the mayo) I would think you could substitute an equal amount of olive oil without changing the overall taste a whole lot.

First take your collard greens and separate out the tough stem from the leaves.

20130223-202127.jpg

Wash the leaves and pat dry.  Then stack on top of each other.

20130223-202139.jpg

Roll into a tight cylinder.

20130223-202201.jpg

And slice thinly.

20130223-202213.jpg

Peel and grate the celeriac and carrots.  Rough chop the parsley leaves.

20130223-202227.jpg

And toss together in a large bowl.

20130223-202239.jpg

To make the dressing, mix the ingredients well, and pour over the salad, tossing until well coated.

20130223-202313.jpg

20130223-202324.jpg

Enjoy!!

Categories: AIP, Recipes, Side Dishes, Vegetables | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

